My Oh Miley.

Image

Well I am pretty positive most people across western culture has heard of or seen the
provocative stunt Miley Cyrus did at the 2013 MTV VMAS. Her dancing or ‘twerking’ was awkward, sexually explicit, and just quite shocking, The things she did with a foam finger left the audience either with their jaws dropping or looking bored. Her performance conjoured 306000 tweets a minute; more than the superbowl.
I’ve sat and researched, trying to figure out, what happened to that country girl/pop princess that I used to love when I was 13. I understand we all grow up, we must be our own person, but I’m skeptical with Miley Cyrus. She’s gone from one end of the spectrum to the other in a very short period of time.
In the making of ‘Can’t Stop’ she said to writers and producers that she ‘wanted something that feels black’, and instead of handing her a John Coltrane track, they gave her something written for Rhianna.
There are a few ways to react to this crazy but intriguing change for Miley Cyrus. Fans can take it on the chin. ‘She’s just being Miley’ or we could bitch and moan and tweet and post. Which leads to another option. Feed the publicity she so wanted. She’s the highlight of the media. People are clicking her videos and scouting her twitter to relieve their curiosity. So was this her plan all along? She’s getting the attention she wanted, but in a very ridiculous and possibly tactical way.
She’s just released a new song as well called ‘Wrecking Ball’. And in all honesty, I really like it. It’s everything and more that I expect from her. A good melody, strong, meaningful lyrics, and ‘poppy’. I think her plan to release this song in the middle of a big media scandal was a good move.Image
Another thing, she’s always got her bloody tongue stuck out like an Alsatian on heat

We can’t complain at her performance that much!? I mean Britney Spears at the same age gave Madonna a good kiss on stage.

Personally though, I found her performance cringey and just plain shocking. Literally because I didn’t expect it. Last time I watched a video of her was in the Hannah Montana movie, fully clothed and playing guitar on a patio with her Dad. (Billy Ray Cyrus).
She tweeted last night:
“Mile, if twerkin woulda been invented…. And I had a foam finger…. I woulda done the same thang you did.” – DAD

Her mum also stood up at the end of the performance and clapped till her hands nearly fell off.
At least the parents are supportive, because if I was in the middle of such a huge and vast media controversy, I would definitely want my families support.
I’m sure the fans, current, new and old are just waiting to see how this pans out.

About beckiesheldon

Journalism Student, 20 years of age. Living and studying in Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

