Fund the museums!

image

Penny farthings? Fascinated that people rode around on these. How do you mount them?!

On a student budget and my inability to drive, it becomes difficult to find things to do as a student that don’t involve Jaeger bombs. My friend from home came up though and we had a bash at the discovery museum in Newcastle. It was free. It had some gems. But some of the displays were rubbish and comical because of it.

image

There should be more fundraising for free museums. Kids nowadays are becoming unaware of the world and being sucked into technology. And it isn’t just kids, its everyone, even my grandmas a regular facebook user.

image

I had fun though. Fun you don’t experience through technology. I created memories that I’ll remember for a long time.  In 10 years time I don’t want to say to my kids, ‘when i was young i did this on twitter’.
I want them to experience everything on a first hand basis. Not through a screen.

I love museums now. And without the free ones what’s a student like me have to turn to? A life of drinking Jaeger bombs and binging on takeaway food?!
Not on my watch. More funding for museums! You can spend a whole day in one and still not know everything there is to know.

About beckiesheldon

Journalism Student, 20 years of age. Living and studying in Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK.
This entry was posted in Journalistic Practice, Life, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fund the museums!

  1. Best bit had to be getting dressed up as a chimney sweep. That and the taxi driver with the haribo

Leave a Reply

