3 Main Reasons I Want to Be a Journalist

Image


1. The little things that crack a smile

I can say that I want to be a journalist because I want to write, but there’s more to it then going through the motions of interviewing, recording and writing. A thing I didn’t realize until  started learning and beginning to practice it in my assignments.
The picture above I’m sure most of you recognize as the monkey found wandering Ikea.
Turns out it was a woman’s pet. I watched the youtube video and chuckled to myself, and then started questioning. Why did she bring her monkey? Why does she have one? Where did the monkey come from? How did it escape?
I think the comical factor was the tiny coat it was fashioning and the content on it’s face. That monkey had no idea what was going on.
I love these little incidents and events that occur, the ones that are surreal, unexpected, and a little confusing, but they bring just that bit of joy that some people need to make their day a little better.

2. Curiosity killed the cat

It may of killed the cat, but at least it may of found something interesting when it did, and it has 8 more lives to find out even more.

I’ve grown a bigger sense of curiosity and even on the bus or the train I listen to what’s going on around me. Some of the things people talk about are brilliant, interesting and weird. I called a local taxidermist recently, and he told me of a young man who wants his tropical fish concealed when they die. How do you stuff a fish?!
A perk of being curious and learning and experiencing new things, is the way it opens your mind. You don’t necessarily have to agree with people’s actions, opinions and decisions, but you must learn to understand them. It makes you more tolerable, because people in this world can be monsters. I want to know why. I think when you decide you want to become a journalist you suddenly receive the right to be a bit nosy, but it’s a power you can’t abuse.
I refuse to be sucked into the sensationalism of the media, X-factor, celebrities, reality television, because that is exactly the reason I wouldn’t want to be in this industry, it’s closed minded. The opposite of my goal.

Image

My trip to China 2008. My favourite trip ever taken.

3. Exploration and Culture

I have, at the age of 19 been lucky enough to travel all over the world. These were family holidays though and when I was younger and stood in a museum or in front of a temple, I didn’t fully appreciate the content behind it. I wanted to rush to the theme park or swimming pool. I’d complain to my Mum that I was bored, My state of mind has changed now, and If I get to travel in the future I want to learn and explore, and broaden my mind. I can go on a rollercoaster another time, but standing on the Great Wall of China, now that is a rush you can’t feel on a log flume.
It’s experiences on personal level. The ones that make you realize how big the world is, and how many people there are, each with a story to be told. One of our rights as human beings is the right of free speech, the right to tell our story. I want to hear everyone’s story and be fascinated by every single one of them, even if it’s just a kid who wants to be a fireman, there’s a reason why, and inspiration behind it.

Over and out!

About beckiesheldon

Journalism Student, 20 years of age. Living and studying in Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK.
This entry was posted in Journalistic Practice, Life, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

